Frequently Asked Questions ~ High School Diploma Program

1. Is there an Attendance Policy?
Diploma students must attend the enrolled High School Lab a minimum of six hours per week. Contact a High School Lab instructor for more information.

2. What if I am a “Returning Student,” meaning I have been in the SCE diploma program before?
If you are a returning student this would mean that you completed an Orientation/Assessment and met with a counselor and your transcripts were evaluated. You then entered the High School Lab and actually began your studies – you may have completed some credits. Returning students should visit or contact the High School lab they previously attended to see if that lab is currently accepting returning students. Returning students who have ‘stopped out’ for one year or longer should also contact the Counseling Office at their campus to meet with a counselor and update their Educational Plan.

3. How long will it take me to finish my High School Diploma at SCE?
This depends entirely on you. Ask yourself how many credits did you complete at your last high school – what do you have left to complete? How well did you do before in high school – what do you think your abilities are now and will you need tutoring support? How much time can you commit to your studies – how many hours per week can you attend the High School Lab? All of these factors will impact how quickly you can complete your diploma. You can discuss this further after you attend our orientation and during your first meeting with an SCE counselor. The SCE High School Diploma Program requires adult students, 18 years of age and older, to complete a total of 160 credits and 20 of these must be “in residence.” Effective September 12, 2011, fall term, diploma students will be required to attend the lab a minimum of six hours per week.

4. What is the residency or in residence requirement?
The state of California requires community college adult diploma programs in California to require students to complete a total of 20 credits of their needed credits ‘in residence’ or actually sitting in our diploma labs. We cannot award a diploma unless students meet this ‘residency’ requirement. It is possible that you do not need additional credits to meet our subject requirement, but you will still need to complete 20 credits in residence to earn a diploma from the SCE.

5. How do I park at your campus for appointment setting or the orientation?
For your Appointment Setting and Orientation days you must purchase a $2 one-day parking permit each day from the yellow parking lot machines to park on campus. On the day of your orientation, purchase a permit before attending orientation. Plan to BE ON TIME to your Orientation. Late comers will NOT be admitted to their scheduled orientation.

6. Can I re-schedule my orientation appointment if I have an emergency or am unable to attend?
There is NO option to reschedule a missed High School Orientation. These are offered ONLY at the beginning of each term. Spaces are limited so if you do receive an appointment to attend an orientation, please try to be early and attend.

7. Once I start my studies at one SCE high school lab, how easy is it to transfer to another SCE High School Lab?
The High School Lab and SCE campus where you have orientation is the High School Lab where you will attend and complete your studies. Before you begin your studies, please determine which location—Anaheim, Cypress, or Wilshire (Fullerton)— best suits your needs. Transfer requests are reviewed and approved by the manager of the Basic Skills and High School Diploma Program. The manager will only consider and approve transfer requests for a valid reason; however, the manager has the right to deny transfer requests if a lab(s) is impacted, there have been more than one transfer, a student has been removed and/or suspended due to lack of focus/progress and/or behavioral challenges, etc.

Permalink

High School Diploma Program General Hours and Location

As a reminder, the last SCE teaching day (excluding the SCE Cypress Math Lab) for fall 2012 term is as follows:

For ADJUNCT/PART-TIME FACULTY- week of November 26th ending Saturday, December 1st depending on the adjunct faculty assignment/shift

For FULL-TIME FACULTY- week of December 3rd ending Tuesday, December 4th

Therefore,

The only SCE High School Labs and SCE Learning Centers (excluding the SCE Cypress Math Lab) open to students next week are:

Anaheim HS Lab 1- Open to students Monday and Tuesday, 8:30a to 2:45p, taught by Matt Stivers; no evening lab.
Anaheim HS Lab 2- CLOSED TO STUDENTS
Anaheim LC- CLOSED TO STUDENTS
Cypress HS Lab- Open to students Monday and Tuesday, 8:30a to 2:45p, taught by Dan Stackhouse; no evening lab.
Cypress LC (EXCLUDING MATH LAB)- CLOSED TO STUDENTS
Wilshire HS Lab- Monday and Tuesday, 8:30a to 2:45p, taught by Marsha Elliott; no evening lab.
Wilshire LC/GED Prep Lab- Monday and Tuesday, 8:30a to 2:45p, taught by Eileen Phillips, no evening lab.

WINTER 2013 TEACHING ASSIGNMENTS BEGINNING JANUARY 7TH

Anaheim High School Lab
1830 West Romneya Drive, Room #139
Anaheim, California 92801

Lab #1 Room #139 (714) 808-4582

Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday - 8:45 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.

Lab #2 Room #122 (714) 808-4577

Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cypress High School Lab
9200 Valley View, Room #200/205
Cypress, California 90630
(714) 484-7438
Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Wilshire (Fullerton) High School/GED Preparation Lab
315 East Wilshire, Room #117
Fullerton, California 90630
(714) 992-9539
Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Permalink

High School Diploma Faculty and Staff

Anaheim High School Lab #1 room #139 (714) 808-4582
DAY
Matt Stivers, Full-time Faculty
mstivers@sce.edu

Michelle Lopez, Adjunct Faculty
mlopez@sce.edu

Gene Frohling, Adjunct Faculty
gfrohling@sce.edu

Evelyn Heredia, Adjunct Faculty
egheredia@sce.edu

Maria “Paloma” Sanchez, Adjunct Faculty
msanchez@sce.edu

Joan Lopez, Instructional Assistant
jlopez@sce.edu

Miryam Guerra, Instructional Aide
mguerra@sce.edu

EVENINGS
Manjit Grewall, Adjunct Faculty
mgrewall@sce.edu

Liliana Cervantes, Adjunct Faculty
lcervantes@sce.edu

Julius Quinal, Instructional Assistant
jquinal@sce.edu

Anaheim High School Lab #2 room #122 714-808-4577

DAY

Margie Abab, Adjunct Faculty
mabab@sce.edu

Erick Saenz, Adjunct Faculty
esaenz@sce.edu

Evelyn Heredia, Adjunct Faculty
egheredia@sce.edu

Robin San Roman, Instructional Aide
rsanroman@sce.edu

EVENINGS
Vickie Sheehan, Adjunct Faculty
vsheehan@sce.edu

Cypress High School Lab (714) 484-7438

DAY
Dan Stackhouse, Full-time Faculty
dstackhouse@sce.edu

Sergio Sanchez, Adjunct Faculty
srsanchez@sce.edu

Angela Spriggins, Instructional Assistant
aspriggins@sce.edu

Ernesto Heredia, Instructional Aide
ernestoheredia@sce.edu

EVENING
Carrie Ruffalo, Adjunct Faculty
cruffalo@sce.edu

Mary Mallacove, Instructional Assistant
mmallacove@sce.edu

Danielle Davy, Instructional Aide
ddavy@sce.edu


Wilshire High School Lab (714) 992-9539
DAY
Marsha Elliott, Full-time Faculty
melliott@sce.edu

Sergio Sanchez, Adjunct Faculty
srsanchez@sce.edu

Michelle Lopez, Adjunct Faculty
mlopez@sce.edu

Enrico Del Zotto, Instructional Assistant
edelzotto@sce.edu

Renee Flores, Instructional Aide
rflores@sce.edu

EVENING
Tomas Colunga, Adjunct Faculty
tcolunga@sce.edu

Orlando Amaya Selles, Instructional Assistant
oamayaselles@sce.edu

Kathy Zerba, Instructional Aide
kzerba@sce.edu

Permalink

DIPLOMA STUDENT TRANSFER REQUESTS & ATTENDANCE POLICY

TRANSFER REQUESTS

Transfer requests are no longer being considered. Students are expected to attend their enrolled lab.

ATTENDANCE AND ACADEMIC PROGRESS

Students are expected to attend their enrolled lab regularly with a recommendation of at least six hours per week. Students are also expected to make academic progress in their subject areas/courses weekly.

Permalink

High School Diploma Program Credits & Completion Deadline for 2013

Because of changes to the California Education Code (Title V, Section 55154), students who did not return to the High School Lab to continue their studies by March 26, 2010 are now required to complete the new 160 credit requirement.

The deadline for diploma students to complete their credit requirement in order to participate in June 14th’s SCE Commencement Ceremony is Friday, May 17, 2013. For students enrolled in the Anaheim HS Lab 1, room 139, the deadline is Saturday, May 18, 2013.

Permalink

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>