Cypress Center Basic Skills and Diploma Upcoming TEMPORARY Move

The SCE Cypress Center Learning Centers (Basic Skills Labs) and High School Diploma Lab will be closed to students May 28, 2014 through June 2, 2014 to temporarily move to temporary buildings.

New locations June 3, 2014 through mid-August, 2014:

Cypress High School Lab- Science/Engineering/Math Building, Room 114

Cypress Learning Center/Basic Skills- Science/Engineering/Math Building, Room 116

SCE-Cypress Math Co-Lab- Library & Learning Resource Center, Room 131/134

Permalink

Frequently Asked Questions ~ High School Diploma Program

1. Is there an Attendance Policy?
Diploma students are highly encouraged to attend the enrolled High School Lab a minimum of six to ten hours per week. Contact a High School Lab instructor for more information.

2. What if I am a “Returning Student,” meaning I have been in the SCE diploma program before?
If you are a returning student this would mean that you completed an Orientation/Assessment and met with a counselor and your transcripts were evaluated. You then entered the High School Lab and actually began your studies – you may have completed some credits. Returning students should visit or contact the High School lab they previously attended to see if that lab is currently accepting returning students. Returning students who have ‘stopped out’ for one year or longer should also contact the Counseling Office at their campus to meet with a counselor and update their Educational Plan.

3. How long will it take me to finish my High School Diploma at SCE?
This depends entirely on you. Ask yourself how many credits did you complete at your last high school – what do you have left to complete? How well did you do before in high school – what do you think your abilities are now and will you need tutoring support? How much time can you commit to your studies – how many hours per week can you attend the High School Lab? All of these factors will impact how quickly you can complete your diploma. You can discuss this further after you attend our orientation and during your first meeting with an SCE counselor. The SCE High School Diploma Program requires adult students, 18 years of age and older, to complete a total of 160 credits and 20 of these must be “in residence.” Effective September 12, 2011, fall term, diploma students will be required to attend the lab a minimum of six hours per week.

4. What is the residency or in residence requirement?
The state of California requires community college adult diploma programs in California to require students to complete a total of 20 credits of their needed credits ‘in residence’ or actually sitting in our diploma labs. We cannot award a diploma unless students meet this ‘residency’ requirement. It is possible that you do not need additional credits to meet our subject requirement, but you will still need to complete 20 credits in residence to earn a diploma from the SCE.

5. How do I park at your campus for appointment setting or the orientation?
For your Appointment Setting and Orientation days you must purchase a $2 one-day parking permit each day from the yellow parking lot machines to park on campus. On the day of your orientation, purchase a permit before attending orientation. Plan to BE ON TIME to your Orientation. Late comers will NOT be admitted to their scheduled orientation.

6. Can I re-schedule my orientation appointment if I have an emergency or am unable to attend?
Telephone 714.808.4683 for orientation information.

7. Once I start my studies at one SCE high school lab, how easy is it to transfer to another SCE High School Lab?
The High School Lab and SCE campus where you complete the online orientation is the High School Lab where you will attend and complete your studies. Before you begin your studies, please determine which location—Anaheim, Cypress, or Wilshire (Fullerton)— best suits your needs. Transfer requests are reviewed and approved by the manager of the Basic Skills and High School Diploma Program only for special circumstances such as a student residing closer to another campus. The manager will only consider and approve transfer requests for a valid reason; however, the manager has the right to deny transfer requests if a lab(s) is impacted, there have been more than one transfer, a student has been removed and/or suspended due to lack of focus/progress and/or behavioral challenges, etc.

Permalink

High School Diploma Program General Hours and Location

SPRING 2014 LAB HOURS

Anaheim High School Lab
1830 West Romneya Drive, Room #139
Anaheim, California 92801

Lab #1 Room #139 (714) 808-4582

Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cypress High School Lab
9200 Valley View, Room #205
Cypress, California 90630
(714) 484-7438
Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Wilshire (Fullerton) High School Lab
315 East Wilshire, Room #117
Fullerton, California 90630
(714) 992-9539
Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

IMPORTANT UPDATE

The SCE Cypress Center Learning Centers (Basic Skills Labs) and High School Diploma Lab will be closed to students May 28, 2014 through June 2, 2014 to temporarily move to temporary buildings.

New locations June 3, 2014 through mid-August, 2014:

Cypress High School Lab- Science/Engineering/Math Building, Room 114

Cypress Learning Center/Basic Skills- Science/Engineering/Math Building, Room 116

SCE-Cypress Math Co-Lab- Library & Learning Resource Center, Room 131/134

Permalink

High School Diploma Faculty and Staff

Anaheim High School Lab (714) 808-4582
DAY
Matt Stivers, Full-time Faculty
mstivers@sce.edu

Michelle Lopez, Adjunct Faculty
mlopez@sce.edu

Gene Frohling, Adjunct Faculty
gfrohling@sce.edu

Joan Lopez, Instructional Assistant
jlopez@sce.edu

Robin San Roman, Instructional Aide
rsanroman@sce.edu

Miryam Guerra, Instructional Aide
mguerra@sce.edu

EVENINGS
Lili Cervantes, Adjunct Faculty
lcervantes@sce.edu

Tomas Colunga, Adjunct Faculty
tcolunga@sce.edu

Ally Rocha, Instructional Assistant
arocha@sce.edu

Cypress High School Lab (714) 484-7438

DAY
Dan Stackhouse, Full-time Faculty
dstackhouse@sce.edu

Kittrick Kalebaugh, Adjunct Faculty
kkalebaugh@sce.edu

Angela Diaz, Instructional Assistant
adiaz@sce.edu

Ernesto Heredia, Instructional Aide
ernestoheredia@sce.edu

EVENING
Carrie Ruffalo, Adjunct Faculty
cruffalo@sce.edu

Mary Mallacove, Instructional Assistant
mmallacove@sce.edu

Odette Apollo, Instructional Aide
oapollo@sce.edu


Wilshire High School Lab (714) 992-9539
DAY
Margie Abab, Adjunct Faculty
mabab@sce.edu

Manjit Grewall, Adjunct Faculty
mgrewall@sce.edu

Imelda Perez, Adjunct Faculty
iperez@sce.edu

Enrico Del Zotto, Instructional Assistant
edelzotto@sce.edu

Renee Flores, Instructional Aide
rflores@sce.edu

EVENING
Vickie Sheehan, Adjunct Faculty
vsheehan@sce.edu

Orlando Amaya Selles, Instructional Assistant
oamayaselles@sce.edu

Kathy Zerba, Instructional Aide
kzerba@sce.edu

Permalink

DIPLOMA STUDENT TRANSFER REQUESTS & ATTENDANCE POLICY

TRANSFER REQUESTS

Transfer requests are no longer being considered. Students are expected to attend their enrolled lab.

ATTENDANCE AND ACADEMIC PROGRESS

Students are expected to attend their enrolled lab regularly with a recommendation of at least six to ten hours per week. Students are also expected to make academic progress in their subject areas/courses weekly.

Permalink

1 2 3 4 5 6 >>